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Frequently Asked Questions 
Unwinding of the Continuous Enrollment Condition & 
COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE)  
  

 

Background 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has granted state Medicaid agencies 
an “unwind” period of up to 14 months to return to normal eligibility and coverage policies 
and operations upon the expiration of the continuous enrollment condition effective March 
31, 2023. The White House also announced the end of the federal COVID-19 Public Health 
Emergency (PHE) effective May 11, 2023. As a result of the end of the continuous 
enrollment condition Nevada has opted to initiate eligibility renewals starting April 1,2023. 
Impacts to Medicaid enrollees following the end of the COVID-19 PHE are minimal. This 
document is intended to help address questions related to activities tied to both the end of 
the continuous enrollment condition and the end of PHE.   
 

What is the difference between the end of the continuous enrollment 

condition and the end of COVID-19 PHE?  
At the start of the pandemic, Congress enacted the Families First Coronavirus Response Act 
(FFCRA), which included the requirement that Medicaid agencies keep individuals 
continuously enrolled through the end of the month in which the COVID-19 PHE ends, in 
exchange for enhanced federal funding. As part of the Consolidated Appropriation Act 
(CAA), 2023 signed into law on December 29, 2022, Congress carved out and set an end 
date for the continuous enrollment provision effective March 31, 2023. In addition, it was 
decided to phase down the enhanced federal Medicaid match funds through December 
2023. States that accept the enhanced federal funding can resume disenrollments 
beginning in April but must meet certain reporting and other requirements during the 
unwinding process.  
 
The national COVID-19 PHE was first instated in March 2020 and unlocked flexibilities at the 
federal and local level that supported efforts to ensure access to critical health services and 
implement pandemic-related prevention and mitigation strategies during the height of the 
COVID-19 pandemic. The end of the COVID-19 PHE primarily impacts health care providers 
and facilities.  As part of the unwinding and returning to normal operations, states are still 
required to unwind any flexibilities, polices and system changes that were implemented in 
response to the pandemic. These activities will start effective May 11, 2023.  
 
Simply put, the end of the continuous enrollment conditions impacts Medicaid enrollees 

https://dhcfp.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dhcfpnvgov/content/Pgms/CPT/COVID-19/COVID-19Unwind-NevadaMedicaid1135FlexibilitiesTable_ADA.pdf
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and beings April 1, 2023.  The end of the COVID-19 PHE primarily affects health care 
providers and facilities, and some impacts will be in effect as of May 11, 2023.   
 

Are Medicaid enrollees losing their coverage on April 1?     
No. Nevada will resume normal operations April 1, 2023. Clients will receive a renewal 
notice prior to the end of their certification period sometime over the next 12 months, 
based on the client’s renewal date. 
 
For example, clients with a renewal month in June will receive a renewal notice in the month 
of April.  Clients found not eligible could lose their coverage effective June 1, 2023. 
 

Do Medicaid enrollees need to pay money to renew Nevada Medicaid 
coverage?  
No. The Division of Welfare and Supportive (DWSS) or Nevada Medicaid (Division Health 
Care Financing and Policy, DHCFP) will never ask you to pay money to renew your Medicaid 
or Nevada Check Up coverage. We are aware of text, email, and phone scams being sent to 
Medicaid members, asking them to pay money to renew their coverage. This is fraudulent 
activity. DWSS and/or Nevada Medicaid will contact members by text and email, but we do 
NOT ask for money. Please be careful when responding to text and emails, and make sure 
the message is from DWSS or Nevada Medicaid. Check your renewal status by logging into 
AccessNevada. You can also call or email: (800) 992-0900, Welfare@dwss.nv.gov. 
 
If you receive an email or text asking you to pay money to renew your health coverage, 
please report this fraudulent activity to the Attorney General Office here or by calling the 
Bureau of Consumer Protection’s hotline toll free at (888) 434-9989 
   
 

What do Medicaid enrollees need to do to prepare for the end of the 
continuous enrollment condition?  

• Update their contact information. 

• Watch for renewal notices and take timely action to keep their coverage. 
 

When will Nevada encounter Medicaid terminations?  
Nevada will initiate renewals starting April 1, 2023, for June renewals. This means Medicaid 
terminations can be effective June 1, 2023.  
 

When will Nevada complete its unwinding period?  

Nevada’s unwinding period runs from April 1, 2023, through May 31, 2024, this means the 

https://accessnevada.dwss.nv.gov/public/landing-page
mailto:992-0900;%20Welfare@dwss.nv.gov
https://ag.nv.gov/Complaints/File_Complaint/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/UpdateMyAddress/


 

 
For informational purposes only, subject to change 

 

 

Page | 3   

  Revised: April 2023 

last renewal month to complete the end of the continuous enrollment disenrollments is 
May 2024.  

 

Will Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) be 
processed differently? 

No. As a reminder, like Medicaid, CHIP is a joint federal-state program, with funding from 
both sources, and it is implemented by each state.  Nevada’s CHIP program is known as 
Nevada Check Up and it provides low-cost, comprehensive health care coverage to low 
income, uninsured children (birth through 18) who are not covered by private insurance or 
Medicaid.  During the unwinding period members will continue to apply and/or renew their 
benefits with the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS), and like Medicaid, a 
full renewal will be conducted at the next scheduled renewal month following the month 
of the end of continuous enrollment condition. 

 

For those determined to be ineligible for Medicaid, does the state 

automatically provide guidance on how they can enroll in a new health 

insurance plan through an Affordable Care Act marketplace? 
The members are notified by the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS) in a 
notice of decision (NOD) and provided with instructions on how to visit the Nevada 
Healthlink website. Their contact information is referred to the Exchange by DWSS. An 
electronic referral is automatically sent to the Exchange who then follows up with the 
person who lost coverage.  Nevada has been notifying the public about this coming change 
through outreach efforts since November 2022, making them aware renewals are starting 
and providing information on the steps they can follow to avoid coverage gaps. In addition, 
DWSS and the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) are working with the 
Exchange and Managed Care Organizations to ensure the highest level of continuity of care 
possible.   

 
What is a Medicaid renewal packet?  
The Medicaid renewal packet is a pre-populated renewal form that lists information 
previously provided about the household, such as income and other details to determine 
Medicaid eligibility. Household should follow the instructions to complete the renewal 
packet and return the information as soon as possible.  
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.nevadahealthlink.com/
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Where can I find Nevada’s unwinding plan?  
The Operation Unwinding Plan can be found on our DHCFP website: covid19 (nv.gov) or by 
clicking here. The Renewal Periods can be found in Appendix B.  

 

How will Nevada return to normal operations? 

Full details can be found in our Operational Unwinding Plan, see above, at a high-level 
Nevada is:  

• Phasing out extra federal Medicaid dollars that states have been receiving since 
March 2020. 

• Ensuring compliance with CAA of 2023 requirements before starting continuous 
enrollment disenrollments.  

• Determining eligibility for current Nevada Medicaid members based on normal 
renewal cycles. 

• Undoing flexibilities, polices and system changes that were implemented in 
response to the pandemic. 

 

States have up to 14 months to complete all outstanding redeterminations 

(all must be initiated within 12 months). How much time has Nevada said it 

will use to complete redeterminations?  
Nevada will use 14 months to initiate and complete redeterminations.  

 

States have the option to begin redeterminations (i.e., checking enrollee 
eligibility and identifying those no longer eligible) up to 60 days prior to the 
end of the continuous enrollment condition.  Or States can wait until the end 
of the continuous enrollment condition to begin these activities.  When is 
Nevada expected to begin its process?  
Nevada has elected to start redeterminations April 1, 2023, the month after the end of the 
continuous enrollment condition, option C below: 
 
Source: CMCS Informational Bulletin 

https://dhcfp.nv.gov/covid19/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dhcfpnvgov/content/Pgms/CPT/COVID-19/Nevada%20COVID-19%20PHE%20Operational%20Unwinding%20Final%202.2023.pdf
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dhcfpnvgov/content/Pgms/CPT/COVID-19/Appendix%20B%20-%20Nevada%20Renewal%20Periods%201.8pptx.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib010523.pdf
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States can choose their approach to prioritizing groupings of their total 
caseload to be renewed over the timeframe they choose.  States are 
expected to use a risk-based approach by population or time/age of 
outstanding renewals. State can also use a hybrid or state-specific 
approach. What approach does Nevada intend to use? Which populations 
or other grouping/factors will be prioritized or deprioritized (e.g., children, 
dual eligible, etc.)?  
Nevada will maintain the beneficiaries’ current renewal month in their case records and 
will conduct a full renewal at the next scheduled renewal month following the month of 
the end of continuous enrollment condition.  
 

Does Nevada Medicaid allow MCO’s to text members to engage them in 
redeterminations? If so, can MCO’s text only if they obtain new “opt-in” 
consent, or can MCOs simply text and provide an opt-out option.  
The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has determined that if a member 
provides their phone number at the time of application with the state, the state is 
expressed consent and authorizes the use of phone number(s) for eligibility purposes. 
Further guidance clarifies that managed care entities acting under contract with state 
governments may, under certain circumstances, make autodialed and prerecorded or 

https://www.fcc.gov/document/fcc-provides-guidance-enable-critical-health-care-calls
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artificial voice call or send autodialed text messages to raise awareness of the eligibility 
and enrollment requirements for governmental health care programs.   
 

 
Can the Qualified Health Plan (QHP) outreach to members via text with 
the intent to educate and offer the option for enrollment in a 
Commercial plan, using either “opt-in” consent or by providing an opt-
out option? 
Yes, please note that, per CMS, federal regulation only prohibits insurance policies 
(qualified health plans) that would be sold “in conjunction with” enrollment in the 
Medicaid managed care plan. Section 438.104 alone does not prohibit a Medicaid 
managed care plan from providing information about a QHP to potential enrollees who 
could enroll in such a plan as an alternative to the Medicaid managed care plan due to a 
loss of Medicaid eligibility or to potential enrollees who may consider the benefits of 
selecting a Medicaid managed care plan that has a related QHP in the event a future 
eligibility changes.  
 
 
 

Does Nevada Medicaid allow MCO’s to contact members who recently 
disenrolled in order to engage them on coverage options? If so, for how long 
after disenrollment can MCOs contact these members (e.g., for 30, 60, 90 
days)?  
For purposes of the unwind related to the end of the continuous enrollment condition, 
Nevada will allow MCOs and Dental Benefit Administration (DBA) to contact members up 
to 90 days after disenrollment in order to engage them on coverage options.  
 

Can the QHP proactively make outreach to at risk/disenrolled Medicaid 
members (as indicated on the 834) educating and offering them the option 
for enrollment in a Commercial plan?  
Yes, please note, per CMS, federal regulation only prohibits insurance policies that would 
be sold “in conjunction with” enrollment in the Medicaid managed care plan. Section 
438.104 alone does not prohibit a Medicaid managed care plan due to a loss of Medicaid 
eligibility or to potential enrollees who may consider the benefits of selecting a Medicaid 
managed care plan that has a related QHP in the event of future eligibility changes.  
 

If yes to the previous question, which of the listed modalities are approved 
for outreach: mail (letter), email, outbound calling both landlines & cell 
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phones, SMS text, and in-market flyer (to be shared at/with grassroots 
events, providers, community groups, etc.) 
All modalities listed are permissible in accordance with CMS guidance and any applicable state 
laws regarding outreach and marketing for private health insurance plans in Nevada. Please see 
response above about consent for text messages pursuant to existing state and federal 
requirements regarding consent for texting members. 

 
 

Can MCO representatives discuss both Medicaid renewal as well as an MCO 
commercial plan options with consumers, especially if the consumer is 
indicating that they are being disenrolled from Medicaid because they no 
longer qualify? Can an MCO representative and a QHP representative share 
a table or booth to act as a carrier resource to reach impacted consumers 
with help on both Medicaid renewal and commercial plan options?  
Yes, as long as it complies with CMS guidance below: 
 
Q1. Regulations at 42 CFR 438.104(b) (1) (IV) prohibit Medicaid managed care plans from 
seeking to influence enrollment in their plan in conjunction with the sale or offering of 
“private insurance.” Does this prohibit a carrier that offers both a qualified health plan 
(QHP) and a Medicaid managed care plan from marketing both products?  
  
A1. The regulation only prohibits insurance policies that would be sold “in conjunction 
with” enrollment in the Medicaid managed care plan. Section 438.104 alone does not 
prohibit a Medicaid managed care plan from providing information about a Qualified 
Health Plans (QHP) to potential enrollees who could enroll in such a plan as an alternative 
to the Medicaid managed care plan due to a loss of Medicaid eligibility or to potential 
enrollees who may consider the benefits of selecting a Medicaid managed care plan that 
has a related QHP in the event of future eligibility changes. However, Medicaid managed 
care plans should consult their contracts and the State Medicaid agency to ascertain if 
other provisions exist that may prohibit or limit such activity.  
  
Section 438.104(b)(1)(iv) implements a provision in section 1932(d)(2)(C) of the Social 
Security Act, titled “Prohibition of Tie-Ins.” In promulgating regulations implementing 
this provision, CMS clarified that we interpreted it to preclude tying enrollment in the 
Medicaid managed care plan with purchasing (or the provision of) other types of private 
insurance. We do not intend the statutory prohibition of tie-ins to apply to a discussion 
of a possible alternative to the Medicaid managed care plan, which a QHP could be if the 
consumer is determined to be not Medicaid eligible or loses Medicaid eligibility. 
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Is Nevada using a federal waiver flexibility to accept MCO member contact 
information updates to the record on file directly confirming the 
information with the enrollees?  
Yes, CMS has approved this flexibility for Nevada and will go through the unwinding 
period (through the 14 months of renewals).  
 

 

What are MCOs/DBA doing to prepare? 
• Use all the recommended messaging provided on the Member Outreach web 

page: MemberOutreach (nv.gov)   
• Create a plan to regularly adjust and recycle messages for members and 

providers through May 2024. 
• Reach out to community partners and share messaging and explain 

importance of ensuring members do not experience a gap in coverage through 
May 2024.  

• Direct members to https://dhcfp.nv.gov/UpdateMyAddress/ 
 
 

 

How will Nevada handle coverage transitions? 
Seamless transition of coverage is critical to our health equity efforts. Members who no 
longer qualify for Nevada Medicaid will be automatically transferred, through the 
Account Transfers (ATs) process to Nevada Health Link, also known as Silver State 
Health Insurance Exchange (SSHIX). SSHIX will ensure the members are placed in a 
Qualified Health Plans (QHP) that fits their needs and budget.  
 

 

Where can I find your member outreach campaign information or 
communication tool kit? 
Please visit MemberOutreach (nv.gov) – The website contains communications such as 
text, social media messages and more in English, Spanish and other languages. 

 

How should plans and other community partners encourage clients to 
update their current contact information? 
Direct members to use the UpdateMyAddress webform to update their address 
through https://dhcfp.nv.gov./UpdateMyAddress/.  
 
Recommended messages specific to Nevada that can be used by MCOs and 
community partners can be found here: MemberOutreach (nv.gov). Encourage 
members to update their profiles through Access Nevada: Access Nevada (nv.gov) or 

https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Pgms/CPT/COVID-19/MemberOutreach/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/UpdateMyAddress/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Pgms/CPT/COVID-19/MemberOutreach/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov./UpdateMyAddress/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Pgms/CPT/COVID-19/MemberOutreach/
https://accessnevada.dwss.nv.gov/public/landing-page
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by calling 1-800-992-0900. 
 

The MCO’s & DBA may also send an email to DWSS at: Welfare@dwss.nv.gov to 
report an address change for their members. 

 

 

Will Nevada provide the MCOs and DBA a list of clients who are due for a 
renewal for the purposes of targeted outreach? 
 Yes. This is being done through the 834-file exchange.  
 

Can plans share Qualified Health Plans (QHP) information with 
interested members? 
Yes, MCOs may conduct outreach to individuals who were enrolled with their health 
plan before or after a loss of Medicaid coverage to assist with the renewal process and 
discuss their QHP product offerings, if available, with individuals who have lost  

 
their Nevada Medicaid eligibility.  

 
Federal regulations do not prohibit a MCO that offers a QHP from providing information 
on that QHP to members who could potentially enroll in a QHP due to a loss of 
eligibility, or to potential enrollees who may consider the benefits of selecting a MCO 
that has a related QHP in the event of future eligibility changes for health insurance (42 
CFR 438.104; See 81 FR 27502 for more information). 

 
Therefore, MCOs and DBA may reach out to individuals before they lose Medicaid 
coverage to allow them to apply for Exchange (QHP) coverage in advance and thereby 
avoid a gap in coverage.  

 
MCOs and DBA that provide information about a QHP (whether before or after the 
loss of Medicaid eligibility) – including providing information on enrollment in the 
QHP – is not considered marketing when it is about the QHP offered by that plan. 
 
If states permit the plans to provide the QHP information, it is not limited to 
terminated enrollees. MCOs and DBA in Nevada may contact members prior to a loss 
of eligibility to promote continued access to health care as a result of the PHE unwind. 

  
Refer individuals who are interested in enrolling in a QHP to Silver State Health 
Insurance Exchange - Nevada Health Link - Official Website for assistance. 

 
 
 

Resources 

mailto:Welfare@dwss.nv.gov
https://www.nevadahealthlink.com/sshix/
https://www.nevadahealthlink.com/sshix/


 

 
For informational purposes only, subject to change 

 

 

Page | 10   

  Revised: April 2023 

• Recommended Messaging from Nevada Medicaid: MemberOutreach (nv.gov) 
• Recommended Messaging form trusted Partner State Health & Value Strategies 

(SHVS): State Health & Value Strategies Social Press Kit 
• Update My Address: https://dhcfp.nv.gov/UpdateMyAddress/  
• DWSS (Access Nevada): Access Nevada (nv.gov)  
• SSHIX: Silver State Health Insurance Exchange - Nevada Health Link 
• COVID-19: covid19 (nv.gov) 
• Member Support: Home (nv.gov) 

 
   Email:  
• DWSS – Welfare@dwss.nv.gov 
• DHCFP – dhcfp@dhcfp.nv.gov  

https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Pgms/CPT/COVID-19/MemberOutreach/
https://socialpresskit.com/shvs#phase-iii-renew
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/UpdateMyAddress/
https://accessnevada.dwss.nv.gov/public/landing-page
https://www.nevadahealthlink.com/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/covid19/
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Members/Home/
mailto:Welfare@dwss.nv.gov
mailto:dhcfp@dhcfp.nv.gov

